Rally Flashback: Poland 2014

Rally Flashback Poland

Welcome to Rally Flashback, where we revisit a previous running of the upcoming WRC round. This month we look at the 2014 running of Rally Poland, its 4th time on the WRC schedule.

Though it hasn’t always been a WRC event, it’s the second oldest rally still run, younger than only Monte Carlo, and has been run since 1921 as a regional or European Rally Championship event.

The 2014 running was at the height of Sebastian Ogier’s ascendance, as he had won the 2013 championship and was in dominant form to that point in 2014, with 5 wins.

Andreas Mikkelsen and Co-Driver Ola Floene jumped out to an early lead on day 1, setting the pace until the 3rd stage, one of four that ran into Lithuania. At that point, Sebastian Ogier overhauled them to hold a lead into Saturday after the evening’s special stage was cancelled due to poor road conditions.

As things progressed the gravel stages became badly rutted, particularly those in Lithuania, challenging the crews to stay on the road. Those who ran early held an advantage, including Mads Ostberg, who won the first stage from an early start on Saturday in his Citroen.

Ostberg’s teammate Kris Meeke did not fare so well however, suffering from a late start and badly deteriorated road condition. This caused him to drop from third to fifth as the day progressed.

Keeping in the mix to this point was local boy Robert Kubica, posting very good times in his Ford Fiesta WRC despite having rolled on Friday. Unfortunately a series of punctures and ultimately suspension damage from a wayward rock would end his rally prematurely.

Hyundai’s i20 WRCs were showing improved reliability, with all three cars having finished Friday, including two in the top 10. Days two and three would see them creep up the order, led by a flying Thierry Neuville.

The battle at the front remained between the Volkswagens of Ogier and Mikkelsen, both well clear of the field but with Ogier holding the clear edge.

By the end of day three, Neuville had clawed his way to third, though followed closely by Mikko Hirvonen, Jari-Matti Latvala, and Juho Hanninen, all separated by less than 40 seconds. Ogier would take the win by 1 minute 7 seconds over Mikkelsen, taking a 50 point lead into the summer break before Finland, with Volkwagen firmly in control of the championship.

For highlights and event reports, check out the following videos:

Follow this weekend’s action, including three live stages, via the following links:

WRC Plus Stream

Motorsport.com WRC news




Photo credit (amazing!!)


Special thanks to Hoccy for allowing me to put together the Flashbacks for Italy and Poland.

HighResolutionMusic.com - Download Hi-Res Songs

1 Alan Walker

Diamond Heart flac

Alan Walker. 2018. Writer: Alan Walker;Sophia Somajo;Mood Melodies;James Njie;Thomas Troelsen;Kristoffer Haugan;Edvard Normann;Anders Froen;Gunnar Greve;Yann Bargain;Victor Verpillat;Fredrik Borch Olsen.
2 Sia

I'm Still Here flac

Sia. 2018. Writer: Sia.
3 Blinders

Breach (Walk Alone) flac

Blinders. 2018. Writer: Dewain Whitmore;Ilsey Juber;Blinders;Martin Garrix.
4 Halsey

Without Me flac

Halsey. 2018. Writer: Halsey;Delacey;Louis Bell;Amy Allen;Justin Timberlake;Timbaland;Scott Storch.
5 Cardi B

Taki Taki flac

Cardi B. 2018. Writer: Bava;Juan Vasquez;Vicente Saavedra;Jordan Thorpe;DJ Snake;Ozuna;Cardi B;Selena Gomez.
6 Bradley Cooper

Shallow flac

Bradley Cooper. 2018. Writer: Andrew Wyatt;Anthony Rossomando;Mark Ronson;Lady Gaga.
7 Martin Garrix

Yottabyte flac

Martin Garrix. 2018. Writer: Martin Garrix.
8 Little Mix

Woman Like Me flac

Little Mix. 2018. Writer: Nicki Minaj;Steve Mac;Ed Sheeran;Jess Glynne.
9 Lady Gaga

I'll Never Love Again flac

Lady Gaga. 2018. Writer: Benjamin Rice;Lady Gaga.
10 Kelsea Ballerini

This Feeling flac

Kelsea Ballerini. 2018. Writer: Andrew Taggart;Alex Pall;Emily Warren.
11 Mako

Rise flac

Mako. 2018. Writer: Riot Music Team;Mako;Justin Tranter.
12 Bradley Cooper

Always Remember Us This Way flac

Bradley Cooper. 2018. Writer: Lady Gaga;Dave Cobb.
13 Dewain Whitmore

Burn Out flac

Dewain Whitmore. 2018. Writer: Dewain Whitmore;Ilsey Juber;Emilio Behr;Martijn Garritsen.
14 Charli XCX

1999 flac

Charli XCX. 2018. Writer: Charli XCX;Troye Sivan;Leland;Oscar Holter;Noonie Bao.
15 Deep Chills

Run Free flac

Deep Chills. 2018.
16 Rita Ora

Let You Love Me flac

Rita Ora. 2018. Writer: Rita Ora.
17 Avril Lavigne

Head Above Water flac

Avril Lavigne. 2018. Writer: Stephan Moccio;Travis Clark;Avril Lavigne.
18 Khalid

Better flac

Khalid. 2018. Writer: Charlie Handsome;Jamil Chammas;Denis Kosiak;Tor Erik Hermansen;Mikkel Stoleer Eriksen;Khalid.
19 Diplo

Electricity flac

Diplo. 2018. Writer: Diplo;Mark Ronson;Picard Brothers;Wynter Gordon;Romy Madley Croft;Florence Welch.
20 Julia Michaels

There's No Way flac

Julia Michaels. 2018. Writer: Ian Kirkpatrick;Justin Tranter;Julia Michaels;Lauv.

Other TFritsch doesn't even like cars 99% of the time. But oh, that 1%.'s posts